Beartooth District fire restrictions lifted

Fire restrictions in the Beartooth District of the Custer National Forest were lifted today, but will continue in many other parts of southcentral Montana.

Additional moisture and cooler temperatures reduced fire danger in the Beartooth District enough to rescind restrictions prohibiting campfires, smoking and operation of vehicles and equipment that can produce sparks.

But extreme fire danger persists in Big Horn, Carbon, Musselshell, Stillwater, Sweet Grass, Treasure and Yellowstone counties. Restrictions remain in effect on private state and federal lands within those counties.

The South Hills near Billings, the Shepherd Ah-Nei area, and the Acton area northeast of Billings are still closed to motorized vehicles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *